Pulaski County Master Gardener General Meeting (Recorded) January 16, 2024

Welcome: Due to inclement weather, the executive board meeting was cancelled, and the general meeting highlights were recorded by new president, Sara Jordan.

Announcements: Sara thanked four members who are leaving the executive board: Cindy Strauss, Pam Gadberry, Nancy Archer, and Blanca Hernandez. Cindy is a past president and led the board for several years. Pam served many years as our capable treasurer. Nancy and Blanca represented the group as members-at-large.

Pam presented the new executive board and explained their duties:

President: Sara Jordan

1st VP: Pam Abrams-Projects

2ndVP: Michele Wasson-Standing Committees

Past President: Carol Mendel

Secretary: Deeana Montgomery

Treasurer: Andy Kessel

Asst Treasurer: Arlene Sevilla-White

Members at Large: Denise Devlin, Ann Griffin, Melody Parsley, and Susan Rose

Sara recognized our Pulaski County award winners. Lee Gershner was selected by the membership as Master Gardener of the Year and Mike Carter was voted PCMG Friend of Master Gardeners. The awards will be presented at the February Meeting.

News from Derek: Derek is working to modernize and simplify PCMG methods and explained the use of Constant Contact for communication with members. Also, procedures are in place to pay dues online. A confirmation email will be sent upon receipt. Dues of \$20 are due until May 1st. Dues can also be paid by cash or check as usual.

Derek announced that we are switching to Constant Contact, and he explained the method of signing up. The Magnolia Chronicle, Weekly Digest, and presidential emails will be sent by this method beginning February 21st. Chairs should verify that all project members are signed up.

Derek reported that we will no longer mail out paper membership cards and will instead use the badge for identification.

Sara added that a project chair meeting will take place in Jones Hall following the February 20 meeting. Please RSVP to Pam Abrams.

A committee chair organizational meeting is being arranged by Michele Wasson for February 9.

The Continuing Education Committee is welcoming new members. Those interested are encouraged to contact Christy Bolling.

Sara reminded members to record all hours and attend the February meeting.

The presentation was recorded for online viewing and reported as minutes from the recording.

Respectfully submitted,

Deeana Montgomery

Board Secretary