## Pulaski County Master Gardeners General Meeting

June 18, 2024

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 11:31 a.m. by President Sara Jordan.

**Program**: Board member Susan Rose introduced the speaker, master gardener Jeffery McKinley, who spoke about her trip To Monet's Garden at Giverny.

Announcements: Sara presented the names of the Length of Service Award members for 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years. A special mention was given to two members who have 35 years of service as master gardeners, Jane Gulley and Gail Roberson.

Sara reminded the membership that this is the time to think of future awards available to PCMG members. The forms and information are listed on the PCMG website. October 15, 2024, is the deadline for submission to the extension office.

The first Master Gardener Appreciation Day has been approved by Pulaski County Quorum Court. Member Arline Jackson submitted a request for a proclamation establishing an annual day of recognition. The ceremony will be held at 1:00 p.m. on June 20, 2024, in the county Rose Garden. It will be held on the third Thursday of June each year. This proclamation will serve to promote our many community efforts and make our group visible.

Sara reminded members about the fall luncheon in Ferndale at The Kathy Ratcliffe Garden at the Vines on October 7, 2024, at 11:00 a.m. The cost is \$25. There will be a live auction with Randy Forst as the auctioneer. Registration can be completed online. Members are encouraged to wear master gardener t-shirts and pearls to honor Kathy.

Sara reminded all members to continue to record work and education hours as earned.

Sara mentioned the tardiness of reimbursements to members has been noted, and issues are being addressed. The state is working on a solution. Derek reminded members that large purchases can be put on the county card.

News from Derek: New badges will be available soon for those who need them.

Door Prizes: Door prizes were distributed to members present at the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Deeana Montgomery

**Board Secretary**